Our Mission

To increase the enjoyment and enthusiasm for water gardening through promotion, education, and shared experiences.

Our History

In the summer of 1997, Jan and Mark Schreier sat by their garden and wondered if there was anyone else who had a pond and if so, would they be interested in getting together and sharing experiences and ideas. After a little investigation, they easily found over 40 people who shared many of the same interests. These folks founded and created what is now the Minnesota Water Garden Society.

Current (2016) membership is approximately 348. Members include master gardeners, garden designers, landscapers and horticulturists, along with experts on growing lilies, container water gardening, pondless features, care of fish and more. Since its inception thousands of water gardening enthusiasts have joined and participated in the society.

Our Executive Committee

GARY DEGRANDE
GARY DEGRANDEPresident
Get In Touch
KEN ELLIS
KEN ELLISVice President
Get In Touch
LEE STRONG
LEE STRONGSecretary
Get In Touch
MARVIN PLATT
MARVIN PLATTTreasurer
Get In Touch

2017 Board Members

Dottie Lindblade
Dottie Lindblade
Bill Lindblade
Bill Lindblade
Marla Davenport
Marla Davenport
Geri Claytor
Geri Claytor
Marty Barke
Marty Barke
Star Platt
Star Platt
Jim Claytor
Jim Claytor
Pauline Danielson
Pauline Danielson

Key Contacts

MWGS Plant Sale
Jan Schreier – mwgs@comcast.net

Facebook
Anne Flipp – 651-484-4123 – aflipp@comcast.net

Fish Acquisition / Storage / Sales
Marty Barke – Marty.barke@comcast.net

Habitattitude Cooperation
Diane Latham – Dianne@lathampark.net

Meeting Prizes
Star Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

Meeting Program / Speakers
Gary DeGrande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Membership
Geri Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

MWGS Logo Merchandise
Star Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

Marketing & Publicity
Gary DeGrande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Media Outreach
Susan Kennedy – smkennedy_mn@yahoo.com

Outreach – OPEN

May Picnic and September BBQ
Marv & Starr Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

Pond Pals
Gary De Grande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Pond Parties
Tim Weiss – timmweiss@usinternet.com

Refreshments
Steve & Jody Stoltz – sjstoltz916@q.com

State Fair Co-chairs
Ken Ellis – ken_ellis@comcast.net
Lee Strong – ldstrong25@yahoo.com

Monitors for Tour & State Fair
Geri Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

Sunshine Coordinator
Sharon Kirchner – JS_Kirchner@comcast.net

Water Garden Bus Tour
Jim Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

Water Garden Tour Co-chairs
Pauline Danielson – pdanielson@msn.com
Marla Davenport – marlacdavenport@gmail.com

Water Garden Tour Exhibitors
Gary DeGrande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Water Garden Tour Marketing & Publicity – OPEN

Waterlog Creative Editor
Warren D. Mosier – warren@cornerstonecopy.com

Waterlog Content Editor
Jan Schreier – mwgs@comcast.net

Website
Marla Davenport – 651-777-3634 – marlacdavenport@gmail.com

For general information contact Gary DeGrande – 651-653-3958 – degrandeboss@comcast.net

One touch of nature makes the whole world kin.

JOIN OUR SOCIETY