Our Mission

To increase the enjoyment and enthusiasm for water gardening through promotion, education, and shared experiences.

Our History

In the summer of 1997, Jan and Mark Schreier sat by their garden and wondered if there was anyone else who had a pond and if so, would they be interested in getting together and sharing experiences and ideas. After a little investigation, they easily found over 40 people who shared many of the same interests. These folks founded and created what is now the Minnesota Water Garden Society.

Current (2016) membership is approximately 348. Members include master gardeners, garden designers, landscapers and horticulturists, along with experts on growing lilies, container water gardening, pondless features, care of fish and more. Since its inception thousands of water gardening enthusiasts have joined and participated in the society.

Our Executive Committee

GARY DEGRANDE
GARY DEGRANDEPresident
Get In Touch
STEVE STOLTZ
STEVE STOLTZVice President
Get In Touch
LEE STRONG
LEE STRONGSecretary- Treasurer
Get In Touch
Get In Touch

2018 Board Members

Geri Claytor
Geri Claytor
Marla Davenport
Marla Davenport
Allen Eldridge
Allen Eldridge
Anne Flipp
Anne Flipp
Jim Claytor
Jim Claytor
Pauline Danielson
Pauline Danielson
Jim Kirchner
Jim Kirchner
Star Platt
Star Platt
Marv Platt
Marv Platt

Key Contacts

Waterlog Content Editor
Jan Schreier – 612-865-0440 – mwgs@comcast.net

Waterlog Creative Editor
Warren D. Mosier – warren@cornerstonecopy.com

Facebook
Anne Flipp –  aflipp@comcast.net

Website
Marla Davenport – 651-777-3634 – marlacdavenport@gmail.com

Water Garden Tour Co-chairs
Pauline Danielson – pdanielson@msn.com
Marla Davenport – marlacdavenport@gmail.com

Water Garden Bus Tour
Jim Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

Water Garden Tour Exhibitors
Gary DeGrande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Water Garden Tour Marketing & Publicity – OPEN

 

MWGS Plant Sale Co-chairs
Jan Schreier – mwgs@comcast.net
Steve Stoltz – jstoltz916@q.com

State Fair Co-chairs
Lee Strong – ldstrong25@yahoo.com
Allen Eldridge – abeldredge@comcast.net

Monitors for Tour & State Fair
Geri Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

Fish Acquisition / Storage / Sales
Marty Barke – Marty.barke@comcast.net

Meeting Program / Speakers
Gary DeGrande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Meeting Prizes
Star Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

Refreshments
Steve & Jody Stoltz – sjstoltz916@q.com

Membership
Geri Claytor – geri.claytor@charter.net

Outreach Coordinator
Allen Eldridge – abeldredge@comcast.net

May Picnic and September BBQ
Marv & Starr Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

MWGS Logo Merchandise
Star Platt – starpltt@comcast.net

Pond Pals
Gary De Grande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Pond Parties
Gary De Grande – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Sunshine Coordinator
Sharon Kirchner – JS_Kirchner@comcast.net

Volunteer Recruitment
Jim Kirchner – js_kirchner@comcast.net

For general information contact Gary DeGrande – 651-653-3958 – degrandeboss@comcast.net

Donate to the Minnesota Water Garden Society

DONATE NOW USING PAYPAL

One touch of nature makes the whole world kin.

JOIN OUR SOCIETY